Let’s Get To Work!

SS-Face-W-BridleRide #2

The great thing about Rainier, (Summer Snow) is that is ready to go to work and start learning new things!  Here is what Devin had to say about him today.

Rainier is like most tb’s I’ve trained off the track.  Smart, willing, and quick to learn.  I love training tb’s, because you can make progress so quickly by keeping the request simple, within their ability, and praising them every chance you get. Timing is really critical, and a reward the instant the horse behaves even a tiny bit in the direction you asked them will teach them so much faster than any correction will.  Today, Rainier learned to accept the contact and lower his frame, move away from leg pressure, and even trotted and cantered a couple cavaletti once I had some steering.  The first thing I generally teach a green horse (or a horse that has holes in it’s training) is to move away from the leg, come forward from leg pressure, and submit to some degree to the bridle.  Some common misconceptions about OTTB’s is that they run from your leg and lean on the bit.  I find most of them need to learn to come forward from the leg (I love this type of horse!) and they are sensitive enough in the bit that asking them to come round is easy, getting them to really take the bit and put pressure on it is the challenge!  Rainier learned so much in one ride, I have no doubt he will be making leaps and bounds forward in his training, and make some lucky amateur a wonderful partner in 100 days.  Though I have to say, he already has some fans here at Blue Rider Farm who may first in line once he’s available!

DevinSS-&-Devin-Faces

About Alise Lamoreaux

As a teacher, photographer, digital storyteller, and writer I explore the images of my worlds and create blogs for each separate aspect of my life. My professional life includes blogs related to digital story telling with adult learners and integration of technology in the classroom. My personal blogs deal with the horses in my life: The story of Picasso Moon focuses on the future as it unfolds for a 3 year old horse moving forward from a rescue situation. His story will involve the characters he meets, natural horsemanship training, and his social development. Beau's Journey is about my blind horse and how he came to continue living a happy full life when he lost his eye sight. Beau has a sketch of him featured in the movie, War Horse. My personal and professional life combine in the Horse I Ching blog with is based on the Horse I Ching iPhone/iPad Ap that features my photography and writing. Horse I Ching is based on the iPhone App created using my photography and writing efforts. And finally, I keep a blog of my mother's poetry. She is 91 an thinks it cool to have a blog. Her words can be found on the Galloping Manifestations blog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

