Relaxed And Quiet… The 3rd Ride

Bending-TrotIt’s hard to believe this was Rainier’s 3rd ride with Devin.  Every time I see him he gets better and is so willing to try whatever Devin asks of him.  He has talent that is still untapped and a personality that is willing to dig deep to see what he is capable of doing. As a special treat this time we have not only Devin’s thoughts on the ride, but a video!

Rainier continues to be a pleasure to work with and have at the farm.  I am a big fan of a relaxed, quiet, vice free horse in the barn.  I’ve had to wait a few days to ride him since he needed shoes when he arrived, and then decided to remove one shortly thereafter.  It can take a bit to turn off the track feet to sporthorse feet.  Thank goodness for bell boots!  So on ride number three, my trusty working student Emily Corrie (also a fabulous photographer and handy videographer) and Alise Lamoureux (blogger and photographer extraordinaire) took a little pictures and video for you all to see what a nice horse I selected.  Under saddle, Rainier is quiet in the ring, safe to mount, and willing to learn.  His natural gaits have balance and rhythm, and he is definitely not hot!  He is a bit one sided, like many horses that have not spent months or years working on being ambidextrous (can you imagine if you were asked to perform every task equally with both hands?) but is learning to bend around the leg, and even showed his understanding of moving off the leg when asked for a simple lateral movement (watch his first “leg yield” in the video!) He is getting his teeth floated next week, and then I hope to ask for more true connection and straightness.  He understands and will reach in the walk and trot, but currently he thinks dropping behind the bit in the canter is what I’m after, and even tries to keep this over framed carriage to his little fences.  He is sorting out what to do over these strange pieces of lumber in his way, but keeps a very level head, watches where his feet go, and does not rush to or bolt after the fence.  It will be fun to keep working with this guy, he makes my job easy!  As Emily said, “He doesn’t look like he just came off the track, he just looks like another horse in for regular training.”  She also said he could be a bridle model.  😉 Devin

Adjustments-3RQuietly standing to be mounted and Devin adjusts her tack.  Really hard to believe he is just off track!  Not the stereotype that’s for sure.

Trot-L-lead-Fence-3RSimply stunning to watch move!Canter-Corner-3R

 

About Alise Lamoreaux

As a teacher, photographer, digital storyteller, and writer I explore the images of my worlds and create blogs for each separate aspect of my life. My professional life includes blogs related to digital story telling with adult learners and integration of technology in the classroom. My personal blogs deal with the horses in my life: The story of Picasso Moon focuses on the future as it unfolds for a 3 year old horse moving forward from a rescue situation. His story will involve the characters he meets, natural horsemanship training, and his social development. Beau's Journey is about my blind horse and how he came to continue living a happy full life when he lost his eye sight. Beau has a sketch of him featured in the movie, War Horse. My personal and professional life combine in the Horse I Ching blog with is based on the Horse I Ching iPhone/iPad Ap that features my photography and writing. Horse I Ching is based on the iPhone App created using my photography and writing efforts. And finally, I keep a blog of my mother's poetry. She is 91 an thinks it cool to have a blog. Her words can be found on the Galloping Manifestations blog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

